Child Rights and Mining Toolkit

Best practices for addressing children’s issues in large-scale mining

在海地,Kebo Bouquet夫妇和孙子孙女们站在家门外。
UNICEF/UNI78109/LeMoyne

About

The Children’s Rights and Business Principles developed by UNICEF, the United Nations Global Compact and Save the Children, in 2012, are the first comprehensive set of principles to guide companies on the full range of actions they can take in the workplace, marketplace and community to respect and support children’s rights. As part of its approach to implementing these principles, UNICEF is developing sector-specific guidance for businesses that are aiming to integrate respect and support for children’s rights into their policies, operations, due diligence, relationships with governments and investments in local communities.

In 2014, UNICEF commissioned action research with mining companies to identify and analyse the sector’s impacts on children’s rights and better understand how companies are currently managing these impacts. In consultation with multiple mining companies, this work resulted in the UNICEF Extractive Pilot report, Children’s Rights and the Mining Sector.

Companies in the mining sector almost uniformly agree that children are vulnerable stakeholders within the community. But they often encounter challenges in understanding how children could be affected directly, rather than only as a result of mining impacts on adult family members or the broader community. Failing to consider children as distinctive stakeholders means that companies may not identify their specific impacts on children. This leads to critical gaps in most standard approaches to social, environmental and human rights due diligence and management systems.

As a follow-up to the Extractive Pilot, UNICEF commissioned Synergy Global Consulting to develop practical guidance for mining companies that want to take concrete steps in addressing their potential positive or negative child rights impacts. UNICEF’s Child Rights and Mining Toolkit is the result of this work.

Because children are affected by a wide range of issues, a comprehensive business approach will consider child rights throughout the company’s management systems and strategies.

The Toolkit is designed to assist any of those in the mining sector who are responsible for designing and implementing strategies related to social and environmental performance at the project level. It provides 10 concise tools for improving social and environmental performance towards respecting and advancing children’s rights in the following areas:

  1. Impact assessment
  2. Stakeholder engagement
  3. Resettlement
  4. In-migration
  5. Environment
  6. Security
  7. Health and safety
  8. Working conditions
  9. Protecting children from sexual violence
  10. Social investment
Child Rights and Mining Toolkit

Download document

(PDF, 1,96 MB)

儿童权利与采矿工具包

大规模采矿处理儿童权利议题的最佳实践

在海地,Kebo Bouquet夫妇和孙子孙女们站在家门外。
UNICEF/UNI78109/LeMoyne

相关

2012年,联合国儿童基金会、联合国全球契约和救助儿童会共同发布的《儿童权利与商业原则》是首套指导企业如何在工作场所、市场和社区中采取全面措施来尊重和保障儿童权利的综合性原则。作为执行这些原则具体措施的一项内容,联合国儿童基金会正在制定具体行业的指引,旨在帮助企业将尊重和支持儿童权利纳入其政策、运营、尽职调查、与政府的关系和对当地社区投资。

2014年,联合国儿童基金会委托一家咨询公司针对矿业公司开展了行动研究,以识别并分析该行业对儿童权利的影响,并且深入地了解企业目前如何应对这些影响。 该公司在与多家矿业公司磋商的基础之上撰写了《儿童权利与采矿业:联合国儿童基金会采掘业试点项目》。

矿业公司几乎无一例外地认可儿童是社区中的弱势利益相关方。但是,他们面临的挑战在于了解企业对儿童如何产生直接影响,儿童所受到的影响并不仅限于采矿对已成年的家庭成员或更广泛社区造成影响。如果不将儿童视为独特的利益相关方,企业可能无法识别其对儿童产生的特定影响,进而导致企业在社会、环境和人权尽职调查和管理制度方面与大多数标准措施相去甚远。

作为《采掘业试点项目》的后续行动,联合国儿童基金会委托Synergy全球咨询公司制定切实可行的指引,协助企业采取具体行动来处理对儿童权利产生的潜在积极或者消极影响。联合国儿童基金会的《儿童权利与采矿工具包》就是这项工作所取得的成果。

鉴于儿童会受到各类议题的影响,因此在企业的整体管理制度和战略性的全面商业措施中会考虑到儿童权利。

本工具包旨在协助采矿业中,项目层面负责设计和执行社会和环境绩效方面战略的人员。工具包提供了10个简明扼要的工具来改善社会和环境绩效,在下列各个方面尊重和促进儿童权利:

  1. 影响评估
  2. 与利益相关方沟通互动
  3. 重新安置
  4. 人口迁入
  5. 环境
  6. 安保
  7. 健康与安全
  8. 工作条件
  9. 保护儿童免遭性暴力侵害
  10. 社会投资
儿童权利与采矿工具包

下载文件

(PDF, 1,97 MB)