ECDI2030 – Early Childhood Development Index 2030

A New Tool to Measure SDG 4.2.1

About

Early moments matter. Children who receive good health, adequate nutrition, early stimulation, learning opportunities, care and protection in initial years of life tend to have better cognitive, language, and psychosocial development. Neuroscientists indicated that the environment where a young child grows during the early childhood period is critical in shaping the development and function of brain. Economists have also demonstrated that the benefits of investing in early years of the child far outweigh the costs.

The compelling evidence has prompted the international society to include early childhood development (ECD) in the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), or Target 4.2, and SDG indicator 4.2.1 is used to specifically monitor the impact of government actions towards this target.

UNICEF led the development of the Early Childhood Development Index 2030, or ECDI2030, which has the conceptual validity and content coverage for measuring the three domains stated in SDG indicator 4.2.1 among children aged 24 to 59 months (health, learning and psychosocial well-being).

The ECDI2030 consists of a set of 20 closed-answer questions. Each question asks the mother on how the child behaves in everyday situations. The answers would be used to calculate the percentage of children aged 24 to 59 months who have achieved the minimum number of developmental milestones expected for their age group, or the ECDI2030 indicator.

The ECDI2030 can only be used to collect data on children aged 2, 3, and 4 years old, that is, children aged 24-59 months. It is suitable for population level measurement, but not for individual level measurement. Countries may need to customize the ECDI2030 as appropriate and conduct dedicated testing.

Download the brief to learn about the development processes and main features of the ECDI2030, things to follow in applying the tool, as well as its latest development in China and the preliminary suggestions for Chinese customization.

Download document

(PDF, 419,81 KB)

儿童早期发展指数(ECDI2030)

测量SDG指标4.2.1的新工具

相关

早期时刻很重要。在生命的最初几年获得良好的健康、充足的营养、早期刺激、学习机会、关爱和保护的儿童往往能取得更好的认知、语言和社会心理发展。神经科学家指出,早期的成长环境对于塑造幼儿大脑的发育和功能至关重要。经济学家也证明了投资儿童幼年时期的收益远大于成本。

这些强有力的证据促使国际社会将儿童早期发展纳入可持续发展目标SDG4.2,并使用SDG指标4.2.1具体监测政府行动对实现这一目标的影响。

联合国儿童基金会总部牵头开发了“儿童早期发展指数2030”(ECDI2030),针对24-59月龄幼儿,它具有测量SDG指标4.2.1所述三个领域(健康、学习和社会心理健康)的概念效度和内容覆盖范围。

ECDI2030模块包括20个简短的封闭式问题,通过对母亲进行面访来了解幼儿的日常表现,据此计算达到其年龄组期望的最少发展里程碑数量的24-59月龄儿童的比例,从而得出ECDI2030的指标值。

ECDI2030仅适用于2岁、3岁和4岁(即24-59月龄)幼儿,适用于群体层面测量,不适用于个体层面测量。ECDI2030在各国应用时可能需要进行不同程度的本土化,并开展相关预试。

下载文件,了解ECDI2030的开发过程、主要特点、实施中的注意事项,以及在中国的最新发展和初步的本土化建议。

下载文件

(PDF, 438,78 KB)