Advice from experts on the development of toxic stress among children

Why chronic pressure can harm a child’s growth and how to avoid it.

UNICEF
UNICEF/China/2017/Li Manwei

If children don't have their needs met, over and over, they will have stress hormones in their body for a long period of time. This is toxic,  but can be prevented with proper care.

A child who doesn't have their needs met will go through something that is called toxic stress.

Anna Maria Chiesa, Ph.D.

For a newborn baby, feeling hungry is a threat to their life. So their perception that something is wrong sets off the crying alarm. If the baby has an adult who can tell what the crying means and tend to their needs, the baby will develop a memory of satisfaction. The levels of stress hormones go down and the cycle goes on. A child who is not satisfied will have stress hormones in their body for longer periods and this is toxic. Little by little, the child becomes irritable, lethargic, loses weight, loses brain synapses, which is the connection between two brain cells. The branching process that enables the contact among different areas of the cerebral cortex (the part of the brain involved in complex functions such as language and problem solving) will be damaged in a child living under such conditions.  


Anna Maria Chiesa, Ph.D., Nurse and specialist in Community Health, University of São Paulo

A toxic environment is a very serious thing for children; it's an environment full of stress.

Joan Lombardi, Ph.D.

You know, children have radar, they know when there are arguments between parents, when there's tension in the home, when they're seeing violence in the community. These are toxic for their development. When they are growing up in intensive situations of violence or the opposite of that, which is neglect. All of these things are toxic to their healthy growth and development. 


Joan Lombardi, Ph.D., International specialist in Child Development and Public Policy

 The children whose development is at risk are children who live in very difficult circumstances.

Jack P. Shonkoff, M.D.

Not a bad day here or a bad day there, but chronic, constant days, weeks, months, years where there's very little positive interaction, where the level of stress is so high, particularly for people in deep poverty, or in violent environments, or dealing with serious mental illness, like depression or substance abuse. Where there's no time left to think about next week or tomorrow. It's trying to get through the day. And where the home may be very disorganized, not because parents don't love their children, but because they're overwhelmed by their own life circumstances.


Jack P. Shonkoff, M.D., Director, Center on the Developing Child, Harvard University: 

We fail to support parents in providing them the support they need for their children. 

Pia Rebello Britto, Ph.D.

Every parent wants the best for their child. And they want to create an environment that will foster their children's growth and development. Oftentimes as societies, we fail to support parents in that function. That's when we start to immediately see a sort of child's toxic environment building. 


Pia Rebello Britto, Ph.D., Global Director, Early Childhood Development, UNICEF

When you are able to provide the necessary care for children to develop, you are certainly preparing a better child for the future. 

Dr. José Martins Filho

It will reduce violence, neuroses, anxieties, school issues, difficulties to get a good job, a good relationship. Dealing with children with care during such a period means striving to improve society. It's a way to protect humankind. 


Dr. José Martins Filho, President, Brazilian Academy of Pediatrics

Support us

Together we can improve the well-being of every child.

专家谈儿童承受的“有害压力”

长期压力给儿童成长带来的危害及避免措施

UNICEF
2017年,在甘肃省定西县,一名女孩与她的看护人在一起。
UNICEF/China/2017/Li Manwei

当儿童的需求长期得不到满足,他们的体内会分泌并长期存在应激激素,这是一种会影响儿童成长的有害激素,不过可以通过适当的照护加以预防。

当儿童的需求无法得到满足时,他们正在经历的就是我们所说的“有害压力’’。

安娜·玛利亚·齐萨博士

对于新生儿来说,饥饿感意味着生命受到威胁。因此,只要感觉到饥饿,他们就会以哭的形式发出信号。若宝宝身边有一位成年人能辨别宝宝哭声意味着什么,并能满足宝宝的需求,宝宝将逐渐形成这种满足感的记忆,应激激素的分泌水平也会降低,并形成一种积极的循环。若宝宝的需求没有得到及时的满足,他们体内分泌的应激激素就会存在更长的时间,从而对他们的身体造成伤害。日复一日,儿童会逐渐变得易怒、无精打采,他们的体重会降低,连接脑细胞的突触数量也会减少。若儿童在这种不良的环境下成长,其连接大脑皮层(负责语言、解决问题等复杂功能的大脑区域)不同区域的分支过程也将受损。 


安娜·玛利亚·齐萨博士是圣保罗大学社区卫生专家、护士。 

有害的成长环境对儿童来讲是非常糟糕的,它将儿童置于充斥着压力的环境当中。 

琼·隆巴尔迪博士

儿童是很敏感的,他们能敏感地察觉到父母的吵架、家庭氛围的紧张或者社区的暴力行为。对儿童来讲这些都是有害的成长环境。若他们成长在充斥着暴力的、有害的环境中,或者相反,成长在饱受忽视的环境中,他们的健康与发展都将受到负面的影响。 


琼·隆巴尔迪博士是儿童发展和社会政策领域的国际专家 

处于极端困境中的儿童大都面临发育迟缓的风险。 

杰克⋅P⋅肖恩科夫博士

这里所指的困境并非只是一天两天才有的偶发情况,而是指连续数天、数周、数月甚至数年都处于没有回应或缺少互动,或长期处于高有害压力的状态,特别那些生活在极度贫困、充斥着暴力的环境中,或身患严重抑郁症、药物滥用等心理疾病的人群。在这种情况下,他们无从设想明天或下周是什么样子,只求熬过今天。他们的家庭生活如一团乱麻,不是因为父母不爱自己的孩子,而是因为他们自己的生活境遇让他们无所适从。 


杰克⋅P⋅肖恩科夫博士是哈佛大学儿童发展中心主任 

我们未能给家长提供他们在照护孩子的过程中所需的支持。 

皮娅∙瑞贝罗∙布里托博士

每位父母都希望能给孩子最好的一切。他们想创造一个有利于儿童成长与发展的良好环境。而现实社会却往往无法在这方面为照料人提供他们所需要的支持。有害压力正是在这种没有得到及时支持的情况下逐步发展成为不利于儿童成长的有害环境。 


皮娅∙瑞贝罗∙布里托博士联合国儿童基金会儿童早期发展项目全球主任 

若儿童能及时获得成长所需的必要的照护,他们将以更好的姿态迎接未来。 

何塞·马丁斯·菲利欧博士

如果我们在生命早期就为儿童提供强有力的支持,将能够减少暴力、心理疾病和校园冲突等问题的出现,并能够助力儿童未来的发展,无论是在学习还是工作中都有更佳的表现。因此,在生命早期为儿童提供所需要的回应性照护也是在推动整个人类社会的进步。 


何塞·马丁斯·菲利欧博士是巴西儿科学会会长 

支持我们

携起手来,我们可以促进每个孩子的福祉。