How to be a great dad

Three tips from UNICEF to fathers out there

UNICEF/China/2019/Zhai Wenwen

Men, like women, have an enormous impact on the health and development of children. The role of a father is important for a child’s development, from the start. Research shows that spending more time with your child can help them score higher on intelligence tests,[1] and help lower the rate or risk of depression, fear and self-doubt, which can be linked to improved outcomes for the children later in life with career and economic success.

Below are three ways to be a better father.

Take on an equal share of the work.

Men may not be able to breastfeed their babies, but they should be able to take on every other parenting task as well as women. There is nothing inherently different between men and women in terms of their ability to provide a child with nutrition, stimulation, and protection or as we say, eat, play, love. In fact, a study that looked at descriptions of fathering across different cultures concluded that fathers can be just as nurturing and affectionate as mothers and just as capable of providing care.[2] We should stop thinking of the role of fathers as simply “helping” mothers. Fathers play a central and equal role as parents and we do a great disservice to men when we believe otherwise.

Give special attention to a child’s early years.

In typical situations, the younger the child, the less involved the father is in the child’s care. And only when the child gets older, does the father’s role increase. But a child’s early years, which take place from the ages of 0-3, is the most crucial in their life because it is when the brain is developing most rapidly. And the kind of care that a child receives during this time has the potential to greatly affect his or her future. So while it may be easier perhaps for men to take on a greater role in the later years when a child is older, involved parenting should start from the very beginning.

Make it an objective to learn.

Research shows that men usually rely on women for knowledge on parenting. This shouldn’t be the case. As a father, you have the responsibility to find out how you can nurture, engage, and support your child at every stage of his or her life. UNICEF has tried to make it a little easier for parents by providing them with a place they can go to for expert and unbiased advice on raising children. Every single article on this Parenting Site is written for the benefit of both male and female caregivers and we encourage everyone to visit the site and make use of the resources.


[1] Engle, P. L. and C. Breaux. 1994. Is there a Father Instinct? Fathers' Responsibility for Children. Paper prepared as part of the project, "Family Structure, Female Headship and Maintenance of Families and Poverty." Population Council and the International Center for Research on Women.

[2] Engle, P. L. and C. Breaux. 1994. Is there a Father Instinct? Fathers' Responsibility for Children. Paper prepared as part of the project, "Family Structure, Female Headship and Maintenance of Families and Poverty." Population Council and the International Center for Research on Women.

如何成为一个更好的爸爸

联合国儿童基金会给父亲们的三条育儿建议

2019年,在河北省秦皇岛,一名父亲将孩子高高举起。
UNICEF/China/2019/Zhai Wenwen

从孩子一出生,爸爸就与妈妈一同,在守护孩子健康快乐成长方面发挥着至关重要的作用。相关研究显示,多花时间陪伴孩子有助于促进他们的智力发展[1],还有助于降低他们受抑郁、恐惧和自我怀疑等问题困扰的几率或风险,从而保障他们充分实现潜能,为未来的工作和生活奠定坚实的基础。

下面的三条育儿建议有助您成为一个更好的爸爸。

平等承担育儿工作

男性虽无法为宝宝进行母乳喂养,但他们能够和女性一同承担其他各项育儿工作。在为孩子提供营养、早期刺激和保护,即营养、游戏和关爱方面,男性和女性的能力没有本质上的不同。事实上,一项对不同文化背景中父亲角色的研究发现,父亲和母亲一样善于为孩子提供抚育和关爱,并在这一过程中充满温情[2]。我们应当摒弃把父亲的角色视作仅是“帮衬”母亲的思维。在育儿方面,父亲发挥着同等重要的作用。无视这一点,其实是对父亲角色的一种偏见和曲解。

对儿童早期给予特别关注

孩子越年幼,父亲往往在育儿方面参与就越少。只有当孩子年龄大一些时,父亲所参与的程度才更多一些。但0至3岁这一生命早期阶段是关系儿童一生发展的关键机遇期,他们的大脑在这一时期发育最为迅速。儿童在该阶段能否得到充分照护可能对其未来产生显著影响。因此,尽管父亲们可能感到在孩子年龄更大些时,自己能发挥更大的作用,但其实从孩子一出生就积极参与到育儿中是十分重要的。

主动学习育儿知识

研究显示,男性通常依赖女性的知识和经验来育儿。这样的情形应当改变。身为父亲,您有责任主动寻找适宜的方法,来为孩子成长的每个阶段提供陪伴、照护和支持。联合国儿童基金会一直致力于为家长们提供支持,为此我们还在近期搭建了一个汇集权威育儿专家建议的平台 – 亲子指南。在亲子指南页面上的每一篇文章都是面向父母双方的,我们鼓励您去访问并充分利用其中的资源以提升您的育儿知识,帮助孩子更好成长。


[1] Engle, P. L. and C. Breaux. 1994. Is there a Father Instinct? Fathers' Responsibility for Children. Paper prepared as part of the project, "Family Structure, Female Headship and Maintenance of Families and Poverty." Population Council and the International Center for Research on Women.

[2] Engle, P. L. and C. Breaux. 1994. Is there a Father Instinct? Fathers' Responsibility for Children. Paper prepared as part of the project, "Family Structure, Female Headship and Maintenance of Families and Poverty." Population Council and the International Center for Research on Women.