Child and Youth Participation – Options for Action

Child Friendly Cities Initiative

Child and Youth Participation – Options for Action
City of Regensburg

Highlights

A Child Friendly City is a city or community where the local government is committed to implementing the Convention on the Rights of the Child by translating the rights into practical, meaningful and measurable results for children. It is a city or community where the needs, priorities and voices of children are an integral part of public policies, programmes and decision making.

Recent years have shown a significant growth in the implementation of the Child Friendly Cities Initiative (CFCI), and today the CFCI reaches up to 30 million children in 40 countries.

Participation is a fundamental right of every child – children of all ages, from all communities, of all abilities, and in all parts of society. None must be excluded. Enabling children to be involved in decisions that affect them is an inherent recognition of human dignity. It is also a means for realizing other rights, including protection and ensuring that local policy is responsive to children’s needs and priorities.

Children’s participation is consequently integral to the creation and implementation of the CFCI at the local level, where children’s active citizenship can be exercised more easily and immediately than at the national level.

The perspectives of children are essential to ensure that the policies, services and facilities they use or affect them reflect and address their concerns, ideas and priorities. Children have unique insight into their own lives, which will offer important perspectives that are likely to be missed if excluded.

Furthermore, through participation, children acquire greater competencies, skills and knowledge that in turn benefit the communities in which they live. Presenting child participation, not only as a child rights issue, but also as a way to strengthen key local services, may motivate local leaders to demonstrate commitment.

As the child rights situation and the commitment to engage with children and young people vary from country to country, it is important to understand the specific factors in any given context that might support or hinder meaningful participation in the CFCI.

This brief offers guidance and suggestions on how children and young people can participate in decisions involving their lives through the CFCI and, more broadly, within their local communities.

It introduces the principles of meaningful and inclusive child participation (Chapter 2) and offers options for action throughout the CFCI cycle, from setting up the CFCI to evaluating progress (Chapter 3). At the end of the document, a list of additional reading material is available, as well as the CFCI Child Safeguarding Guidance (Annex I).

The brief intends to inform and inspire all stakeholders involved in the CFCI by providing a mix of guidance and good practices from existing CFCIs.

The CFCI engages children under the age 18 and young people between the age of 18 to 24.

Child and Youth Participation – Options for Action
Author(s)
联合国儿童基金会
Publication date
Languages
Chinese

Download

(PDF, 1,50 MB)

促进儿童和青年参与——备选行动方案

儿童友好型城市倡议

促进儿童和青年参与——备选行动方案
雷根斯堡市

亮点

“儿童友好型城市”是指致力于落实《儿童权利公约》的城市或社区,地方政府力求将《公约》规定的权利转化为务实可行、有意义、可衡量的成果,切实造福儿童。在这些城市或社区,儿童的需求、优先事项和心声是当地公共政策、项目、决策制定不可或缺的一部分。

近年来,儿童友好型城市倡议(CFCI)项目的实施势头日盛。现在,儿童友好型城市倡议已深入全球40 个国家,惠及3000 万儿童。

参与权是所有儿童的基本权利——所有儿童不论年龄、社区、能力、社会阶层,一个都不能少。让儿童有机会参与影响儿童的决定,是对人类尊严自然而然地认可。同时,参与权也是实现其他儿童权利的手段,包括保障儿童权利、确保地方政策充分响应儿童的需求和优先事项。

因此,要在地方层面创建和实施儿童友好型城市倡议,保障儿童参与权是其中不可或缺的一环。相较国家层面,儿童在地方层面能更容易、更迅速地行使其积极公民权。

要确保供儿童使用或对儿童有影响的政策、服务、设施能切实反映和强调他们关心的问题、想法和优先事项,就必须了解儿童的观点和想法。儿童对自己的生活有独到的见解。若不予关注,就会错过很多重要的观点。

不仅如此,通过参与各类活动,儿童还能提升胜任力、技能、知识,转而造福所在社区。保障儿童参与权不仅事关儿童权利,也是强化地方主要服务项目的重要途径,能有效激励地方领导者以实际行动落实承诺。

各国的儿童权利现状各有不同,对与儿童青年沟通的重视程度也参差不齐,因此必须结合当地实际,了解哪些具体因素会促进或阻碍各地儿童青年有意义地参与儿童友好型城市倡议项目。

本报告提出了一系列指导意见和建议,告诉大家如何通过儿童友好型城市倡议项目,促使儿童和青年参与跟他们生活相关的决策;广义而言,这些决策关乎他们所在的社区。

报告介绍了有意义和有包容性的儿童参与(第2 章)的基本原则,为儿童友好型城市倡议项目周期制定了一系列备选行动方案,涵盖从项目创建到进展评估的各个阶段(第3 章)。文末还罗列了一系列推荐阅读材料以及儿童友好型城市倡议项目有关儿童保护的基本指导方针(附件1)。

本报告总结了现有儿童友好型城市倡议项目的指导意见和良好实践,旨在为所有参与儿童友好型城市倡议项目的利益相关方提供相关依据,助大家启发思路。

儿童友好型城市倡议项目鼓励年龄在18 岁以下的儿童以及年龄在18 岁至24 岁的青年积极参与。

促进儿童和青年参与——备选行动方案

Author

联合国儿童基金会

发布日期

语言

中文

下载报告

(PDF, 2,54 MB)