Generation 2030 Africa

Child demographics in Africa

Highlights

Four in 10 of the world's people will be African by the end of this century

  • Africa has experienced a marked increase in its population in last few decades. Its current population is five times its size in 1950. And the continent's rapid population expansion is set to continue, with its inhabitants doubling from 1.2 billion to 2.4 billion between 2015 and 2050, and eventually reaching 4.2 billion by 2100.
  • The future of humanity is increasingly African. More than half the projected 2.2 billion rise in the world population in 2015-2050 is expected to take place in Africa, even though the continent's population growth rate will slow. On current trends, within 35 years, 1 in every 4 people will be African, rising to 4 in 10 people by the end of the century. Back in 1950, only 9 among 100 of the world's number of inhabitants were African.
  • With its inhabitants set to soar, Africa will become increasingly crowded, with its population density projected to increase from 8 persons per square kilometre in 1950 to 39 in 2015 and to about 80 by mid-century.

A billion children will live in Africa by mid-century

  • In 2050, around 41 per cent of the world's births, 40 per cent of all under-fives, 37 per cent of all children under 18 and 35 per cent of all adolescents will be African — higher than previously projected. In 1950, only about 10 per cent of the world's births, under-fives, under-18s and adolescents were African.
  • The population of Africa's under-fives will swell by 51 per cent from 179 million in 2015 to 271 million in 2050 and its overall child population (under-18s) will increase by two thirds from 547 million in 2015 to almost 1 billion by mid-century.
  • It is projected that 1.1 billion children under 18 will be living in Africa by 2100, accounting for almost half (47 per cent) of the world population of children at that time.
Generation 2030 Africa
Author(s)
UNICEF
Publication date
Languages
Chinese, English
ISBN
978-92-806-4764-8

Download

(PDF, 10,80 MB)

展望非洲2030

非洲儿童人口统计报告

亮点

本世纪末全球人口的十分之四将为非洲人

  • 近几十年,非洲人口数量显著增长。目前,非洲人口总数达到1950 年时的五倍。如果人口快速膨胀的趋势一直延续,预计在2015 年到2050 年间人口将再翻一番,到2100 年最终达到42 亿。
  • 非洲人口占全球人口的比重将越来越大。2015 至2050 年间世界人口将预计增长22 亿。尽管非洲的人口增长率将会减缓,但其中超过一半的新增人口仍将来自非洲。按照目前的趋势,在未来的35 年内,世界每四个人中将有一名非洲人;到本世纪末,这一数字将变为十分之四;而在1950 年,这一数字仅为百分之九。
  • 由于非洲居民数量的飙升,非洲大陆将变得日益拥挤。1950 年的人口密度为8 人/ 平方公里,预计这一数字到2015 年达39 人/ 平方公里,到本世纪中叶将增长至80 人/ 平方公里。

到本世纪中叶,非洲儿童数量将达到10 亿

  • 到2050 年,全球新生人口的41%、全球5 岁以下人口的40%、全球18 岁以下人口的37% 和全球青少年人口的35% 都将是非洲人,这些数字高于此前的预期。而在1950 年,全球新生儿、5 岁以下、18 岁以下和青少年人口仅有10% 为非洲人。
  • 到2050 年,非洲5 岁以下人口将会从2015 年的1.79 亿激增至2.71 亿,增长51%;而到本世纪中叶,非洲18 岁以下儿童人口将会从2015 年的5.47 亿增至近10 亿,数量增加了三分之二。
  • 预计到2100 年,将有11 亿18 岁以下儿童生活在非洲,占世界儿童总人口的近一半(47%)。
展望非洲2030
作者
联合国儿童基金会
发布日期
语言
中文, 英语
ISBN
978-92-806-4764-8

下载

(PDF, 40,60 MB)