Landscape Analysis for Childhood Overweight and Obesity in Chengdu, China

Childhood Overweight and Obesity

Highlights

Chengdu City, one of the most populated cities in China, comprises both urban districts and rural counties and is moving towards becoming a Child-Friendly City with the core objectives of protecting children’s rights and improving their well-being. To help tackle the increase in childhood overweight and obesity, the National Health Commission (NHC), and UNICEF selected Chengdu as a pilot city to carry out an Urban-based Nutrition Programme (UNP) to demonstrate city level actions that could reduce the rapid acceleration of child overweight and obesity in China. This city-based model is part of China’s commitment to meeting the targets set under the National Nutrition Plan.

A landscape analysis was undertaken in early 2021 as the first step of establishing this UNP model with the objective of identifying a set of priority actions to address the existing gaps in policies and programmes. It involved two surveys,1 a literature review, interviews with key informants and a validation workshop. The work was a joint effort by the Chengdu Health Commission, Chengdu Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) and Chengdu Women’s Federation - the lead agency of Chengdu’s Child Friendly City (CFC) Taskforce.


1 One is the Chengdu Landscape Analysis Survey, which includes stratified cluster sampling surveys of 2,725 students, 2,782 caregivers, and teachers and administrators from 22 primary, junior secondary, and senior secondary schools, which collected dietary intake and physical exercise activity data on school-age children. The other one is a small sample survey of 125 new mothers in the Pengzhou district of Chengdu on exclusive breastfeeding using the standard questionnaires and methodology recommended by WHO and UNICEF.

Author
UNICEF China
Publication date
Languages
Chinese, English

Download

(PDF, 15,37 MB)

成都市儿童超重肥胖现况分析报告

儿童超重和肥胖

亮点

作为一个城乡一体且人口众多的中国城市之一,成都目前正在打造儿童友好城市,其核心目标是保护儿童权利,改善儿童福祉。为帮助解决日益严重的儿童超重和肥胖问题,国家卫生健康委和联合国儿童基金会选择成都作为试点城市,实施以城市为主体的营养干预项目(Uran-based Nutrition Programme),从而为旨在降低中国儿童超重和肥胖快速增长态势的城市一级行动做出示范。这种基于城市的模式是中国致力于实现国民营养计划目标的组成部分。

作为建立城市营养计划模型的第一步,成都市于2021年初进行了一项现况分析,目的是确定一套优先行动,以应对政策和项目中存在的差距。该分析包括两项调查1、一项文献回顾、关键信息提供者访谈及一次多部门研讨会,是成都市卫生健康委、成都市疾病预防控制中心和成都市妇女联合会(成都市儿童友好城市工作小组的牵头机构)共同努力的成果。


1 一项是成都儿童饮食状况摸底调查,这是一项针对2725位学生,2782位照护人以及来自22个小学、初中、高中三类学校的老师和管理人员的调查。这项调查收集了学龄儿童膳食摄入和体育运动等数据。另一项是在成都彭州市对125名新妈妈关于纯母乳喂养情况的调查,采取了联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织推荐的标准化问卷。

成都市儿童超重肥胖现况分析报告
Author
联合国儿童基金会驻华办事处
发布日期
语言
中文, 英语

下载

(PDF, 16,87 MB)