The State of the World's Children 2021 Executive Summary

ON MY MIND - Promoting, protecting and caring for children’s mental health

[TREATED PHOTO] Belmopan, Belize. June 2021. Baby and her mother during routine check up with the pediatrician.
UNICEF/UN0527099/Cus

Highlights

The COVID-19 pandemic has raised huge concerns for the mental health of an entire generation of children and young people and parents and caregivers. But the pandemic may represent only the tip of a mental health iceberg – an iceberg we have ignored for far too long.

For the first time in its history, The State of the World’s Children examines mental health, with a special focus on how risk and protective factors in the home, school and community shape mental health outcomes. Against a backdrop of rising awareness of mental health issues, and growing demand for action, the report argues that we now have a unique opportunity to promote good mental health for every child, protect vulnerable children and care for children facing the greatest challenges.

The report demands urgent investment in child and adolescent mental health across sectors, not just in health. It argues for proven interventions in areas like health, education and social protection, such as parenting and whole-school programmes. And it calls for societies to break the silence surrounding mental health, by addressing stigma, promoting understanding, and taking seriously the experiences of children and young people.

The State of the World's Children 2021 Executive Summary
Author(s)
UNICEF
Publication date
Languages
Chinese, English

Download

(PDF, 4,37 MB)

《2021年世界儿童状况》执行摘要

心之所想:促进、保护和关爱儿童心理健康

[照片经处理] 2021年6月,伯利兹,贝尔莫潘,一个女孩在妈妈的陪伴下接受儿科的常规检查。
UNICEF/UN0527099/Cus

亮点

2019冠状病毒病(COVID-19)大流行引发人们密切关注整整一代儿童青少年及其父母和照料者的心理健康状况。这场大流行或仅仅揭示出了心理健康问题的“冰山一角”,而对于这一问题,我们已经忽视了太长时间。

本期《世界儿童状况》是该报告有史以来首次审视心理健康问题,重点关注家庭、学校和社区面临的风险和保护性因素对心理健康状况会产生怎样的影响。随着人们对心理健康的认识不断提高,并期待着各方采取更多的行动,本报告认为,促进每个儿童的心理健康,保护脆弱的儿童,关爱面临最大挑战的儿童,恰逢其时。

本报告呼吁对儿童青少年的心理健康进行紧急的跨部门投入,而非仅依赖卫生部门的一己之力。报告主张卫生、教育和社会保护等领域采取经证实有效的干预措施,例如养育照护指导和全校参与项目;报告还呼吁全社会打破对心理健康问题的沉默,消除污名化,促进理解,认真对待儿童青少年所面临的挑战。

心之所想:执行摘要 促进、保护和关爱儿童心理健康
Author
联合国儿童基金会
发布日期
语言
中文, 英语

下载

(PDF, 4,67 MB)