All your questions on breastfeeding answered

All your questions on breastfeeding answered

UNICEF
UNICEF

07 March 2012

Q: Many mothers have difficulties to breastfeed their babies in the first few days and are concerned that they can't produce enough milk. How can we help them?

A: A mother's very first milk - colostrum - is extremely beneficial for new-born babies. Early contact, early suckling and early initiation of the flow of breast-milk can be aided by the support of midwives and health staff. Infants should be put to the mother's breast shortly after birth to keep skin-to-skin contact when they have the strongest instinct to suckle the mother's nipples. Babies should not be forced to suckle if they are not willing to. Early introduction of a milk bottle or powered milk can ruin the child's natural sucking reflex, and is one of the main reasons that infants can fail to breast-feed properly.

People usually worry that the baby will be hungry or dehydrated before sufficient colostrum is produced by their mothers. In fact, new-born babies have stored up adequate body fluids that completely meet their limited needs at this very early stage of life. No water, juice or formula milk is needed. Therefore, anything other than colostrum – mother's first milk – can have a negative impact on the baby's health. Lack of colostrum may cause diarrhea in the baby and mother's lactation can be interrupted because the baby loses it's instinct to breast feed.   

Q: Will Caesarean-section affect breastfeeding?

A: Research shows that Caesarean-section is another factor that affects breastfeeding, early initiation in particular. C-sections make delivery and neonatal care processes far more complicated, but have no impact on lactation. According to WHO guidelines, antibiotics commonly used after this surgery, such as amoxicillin and cephalosporin V will not cause any problems with breastfeeding. After regaining consciousness, mother can start skin contact with the baby and initiate breastfeeding right away. However, mothers who experienced C-sections will need more care when holding the babies and breastfeeding them with each nipple alternatively. They will feel constant pain during the first several days so breastfeeding in a lying position will be more suitable for new mothers who have just gone through a Caesarean section delivery.

Q: If in the first six months of its life, a baby is exclusively fed with breast milk without any intake of water, will it feel hungry, thirsty or suffer from excessive internal heat?

A: 88% of breast milk is water, and this is totally sufficient for babies less than 6 months old. There is no need to feed the baby water or other fluid. 

On the contrary, water can be hazardous for baby less than 6 months old. Water fills up the baby's stomach and prevents it from taking-in breast milk. It is also difficult to guarantee the safety of drinking water and the hygienic condition of utensils.

Even in a hot, dry environment, the baby can acquire adequate water through frequent breastfeeding. You can tell if the baby is provided with sufficient water by observing their urine. If the baby is passing yellowish urine six times a day it means they have adequate water supply.

Q: Is it true that after six months, the breast milk will contain no nutrients just like water?

A: Breast milk is perfectly designed to nourish human babies, and almost all women are able to produce breast milk with the expected nutrient composition. The quality of breast milk is affected in under-nourished women with very low Body Mass Index – below 18.

The composition of breast milk can vary at different stages, from colostrum at birth, to mature milk later on. And composition also changes within a feed from light fore-milk at the beginning of a feed to quench the baby's thirst, to richer hind milk to satisfy energy and nutrient needs. This is one of the miraculous qualities of human milk. The body adjusts the composition of milk to suit the babies changing needs.

The composition in terms of energy, protein, and iron is quite similar before and after 6 months. The percentage contribution varies from nutrient to nutrient. Immunity factors in breast milk also vary from time to time depending on exposure of the mother to various antigens. But it is untrue that breast milk has no nutrients after 6 months.

The fact is that after 6 months the energy and nutrient needs of the baby can no longer be met by breast milk alone. This is why UNICEF and WHO recommend continued breast feeding with complementary foods after 6 months.

Q: How can breastfeeding affect the development of preterm, low birth weight and twin babies?

A: The mother's body is able to adjust the formulation and amount of breast milk produced, according to the needs of the baby. Almost all preterm, low birth-weight and twin babies can be fed with breast milk. There is more protein in the breast milk of a mother who gave birth to a premature baby, and this helps produce faster growth. Nutritional supplements can be provided to lactating women when necessary to improve their nutritional conditions. 

It is extremely critical for the baby to suck the mother's nipples as early as possible. For babies who have problems in sucking nipples, breast milk can be pumped out and fed via stomach tubes, suction tubes or cups. Babies with more than 1,800 g of body weight can learn to suckle for breast milk normally.

Q: How can working mothers keep breastfeeding?

A: Mothers do not have to feed their babies with substitutes. 

If mothers can't stay with their children during working hours, it is suggested that when they are together, women should try their best to breastfeed as frequently as possible. Allowing children to breastfeed “on demand” is best and will help mothers to keep producing milk. 

If mothers can't breastfeed in their work-place, they can express their milk two or three times per weekday and store the milk in clean containers. Breastmilk can be stored at room temperature safely for up to eight hours. Children should be fed the milk from clean cups, not from a bottle.

Families and the whole community should urge employers to provide female staff with maternity leave with pay and day care centres at the work place, as well as to give them appropriate time and space to breast feed or express their milk.

Q: How does breastfeeding affect women's health?

A: Breastfeeding benefits mothers too. Exclusive breastfeeding for at least six months will help women lose the weight they gained during pregnancy, as the fat will then be used to generate breast milk. 

International studies have found a connection between exclusive breastfeeding and decreased incidents of breast cancer.

Breastfeeding soon after giving birth can also help mothers stop bleeding after birth and also helps the uterus to recover.

Q:There is a common concern that insufficient breast milk may impair an infant's growth. The fatter the babies, the better it is.  How can we evaluate the indicators of an infant's weight and length?

A:First you need a standard to measure child growth. The standard developed by the National Institute of Health (NIH) was adopted before WHO announced its Child Growth Standard in 2006. WHO's standard is based on primary growth data and related information from approximately 8,500 children from widely different ethnic backgrounds and cultural settings while NIH's standard is based on developmental status of children raised on American soil.

In regard to possible morbidity among infants, WHO's indicators on sufficient milk supply for babies within 6 months old are defined as: 1) an average of 500 grams increase in body weight per month, and 2) more than 6 times passing yellowish urine per day. Neonatal body weight 3 kilograms, on average, and by the time the infant is 6 months old, body weight should be doubled to around 6 kilo grams.  

The fact that a formula-fed infant grows faster does not necessarily mean they are healthier. We must abandon this old-time conception of “heavier equals to healthier”. Formula-fed infants gain their body weight rapidly yet are also faced with higher risks of developing obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases.  

Q: Once infants fail to breast feed, formula has to be given. Some mothers feel that infants fed with formula often develop faster than breastfed, in terms of height and weight. The mothers therefore assume that formula is as good as breast milk. Does this saying have any scientific evidences? How to change the mothers' entrenched assumptions?

A:There are two issues here.

•First, the reasons why babies refuse breastmilk is when the newborn's natural sucking reflex is interfered with by the introduction of bottle feeding or the giving of baby formula very early on. All babies are born to breastfeed. The mother and the newborn are mutually responsive in the most sensitive period of half to one hour following delivery. This period is crucial for laying the foundation for successful breastfeeding.

•Second, maximum growth does not necessarily mean optimal growth. Fat babies are also NOT necessarily healthier simply because they are fatter. 

Breastfed babies grow faster during the first 2-3 months and growth slows down thereafter. This is quite normal as long as the baby's growth follows its natural percentile without crossing paths above or below.

The latest WHO growth percentiles were developed based on the first growth reference study of over 8,000 breastfed babies whose care was supervised by WHO experts in different parts of the world. The earlier growth standards were based on formula fed babies, who gain weight fast but in later life have increased risk of overweight, obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disorders.

Q: At present, many producers of the breast milk substitutes, especially formula milk, claim to contain DHA, immune factors and other functional nutrients. Some have even advertised themselves “as good as breast milk”. Can formula milk substitute breast milk?

A:The manufacturers of infant formula spend millions of dollars to try and falsely convince mothers that their artificial products contain the same nutrients as breastmilk. This is not true. It can never be the same. 

Only breastmilk has a perfect combination of energy and nutrients needed for optimal growth of a human baby up to the age of 6 months. Thereafter, breastmilk continues to be a major source of nutrients if breastfeeding is continued substantially after introduction of complementary foods and drinks.

Yes, many infant formula products claim to contain a wide variety of added nutrients. It is because powdered cow's milk does not contain the essential nutrients perfectly suited to human infant growth and development. All of these additives such as DHA and AA, and many others, are derived from animal sources or artificially synthesized. The safety and efficacy of the sources of these fatty acids and of the formulas supplemented with them have not been established, the routine addition of these nutrients to formulas designed for full-term infants is not recommended in the USA and Canada.

DHA, an omega-3 fatty acid, is essential for the proper functioning of our brains as adults, and for the development of our nervous system and visual abilities during the first 6 months of life.

AA means arachidonic acid, a long-chain omega-6 fatty acid. Formulas with long-chain polyunsaturated fats (such as arachidonic acid [AA] and docosahexaenoic acid [DHA] claim to improve eye and brain development. However, these claims for infant formula are not well proven.

Q: If we compare the substitutes and breastmilk, how different will they affect the children's survival, growth, development and their entire life?

A:Carefully controlled studies reviewed by WHO experts demonstrate that breast-feeding or not breast-feeding can be a matter of life or death for the at-risk infant in developing countries.

Compared with breast-fed infants, non-breast-fed infants below two months of age are six times more likely to die from acute respiratory infection (ARI) and diarrhea;

In children up to two years of age, non-breastfed children are 1.5 times more likely to die than breast-fed infants.

There is evidence that breastfeeding protects against Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), allergies, ARI, ear infections.

Formula also makes children more prone to infection, asthma, meningitis, obesity and diabetes.

This is because of the protective effect of human milk, as well as the fact that breast-feeding is simply the most hygienic and nutritious form of food for infants.

Even in industrialized countries, which have considerably lower incidences of infectious disease, many studies show that breast-feeding protects against acute infections.

As for the measurement of growth, previously, growth standards were developed based on growth of bottle fed children in the USA. More recently, WHO recommended the development of new growth standards based on growth of breastfed children in different parts of the world.

These results support the contention that mothers in developing countries should be encouraged to breast-feed their children for the first 2 years of life with the addition of good quality solid foods starting from about 6 months.

We need to get rid of the idea that the fatter the baby is, the healthier it is. This is not necessarily true.

In 2006, a WHO-led global study of children, young people and adults which suggested that breastfeeding may have long-term effects. Subjects who were breastfed:

  • had lower mean blood pressure and total cholesterol
  • had higher performance in intelligence tests.
  • had lower prevalence of overweight/obesity and type-2 diabetes.

Q: Why should we advocate for, promote and support breastfeeding? What are the benefits?

A:Breastfeeding is the perfect method of feeding infants.  Global health authorities agree that breastmilk is unquestionably better for infant nutrition than any powdered milk formula.

  1. No infant formula contains the perfect combination of nutrients to enhance infant growth and brain development as breastmilk does.
  2. No infant formula contains antibodies to protect infants against infection as breastmilk does.
  3. No infant formula is as safe to administer as breastmilk is, because infant formula administration is prone to contamination, through the water used, the bottles and teats, and the powder itself – as we know the powder could be fake and/or contaminated by melamine.
  4. No infant formula is as affordable to families as breastmilk is providing the perfect nutrition for infants while protecting them from infections.

Every mother should therefore be counselled during antenatal, delivery and postnatal care on the benefits of breastfeeding for her baby, and for herself, and should receive skilled support to initiate and sustain breastfeeding.

Q: What are the risks of artificial feeding?

A:Using breastmilk substitutes mean first and foremost that children do not get all the benefits of breastfeeding – the four points outlined above.

Artificial baby milk can actually be harmful because it can be contaminated during its manufacture, preparation and use, as shown by alarming examples not only in China but all over the world. 

It certainly reduces the potential for optimal survival and development of children worldwide. Even if the formula is prepared under the best hygienic conditions and therefore free from contamination, it can never be as good as breastmilk and makes children more prone to infection, asthma, meningitis, obesity and diabetes, according to a number of studies in western countries.   

Breastmilk is always perfect!

Q: What are the risks of feeding babies with bottles, teats and cups?

A: Bottles and teats can cause various health problems thus not recommended to be used for feeding babies.

Unlike active sucking for breast milk, babies accept food passively when they are fed via milk bottles. With bottles and teats, the whole process is easier and requires less effort of sucking. Bottles and teats can create illusions that babies may refuse to suck nipples. Lacking of active sucking practice, babies may suffer from overweight due to excessive food intake, underdeveloped facial muscle or incoordination of bodily movement. Bottles and teats may also influence formation of irregular scissors bite (poor teeth alignment).

Bottle and teats have plenty of germ-prone seams and grooves which are difficult to clean and easily cause diarrhea. Synthetic bottles and teats may also pose potential risks to babies' health as well.  

Cups are recommended to use for feeding babies who have trouble in sucking nipples. Cup feeding requires extra patience and additional techniques.

Q: Considering the survival and health status of Chinese population, what suggestions will UNICEF give to Chinese parents to enhance children's health?

A:

  1. Breastmilk alone is the best food and drink for an infant for the first six months of life. No other food or drink, not even water, is usually needed during this period.
  2. Newborn babies should be given to the mother to hold immediately after delivery. They should have skin-to-skin contact with the mother and begin breastfeeding within one hour of birth.
  3. Almost every mother can breastfeed successfully. Breastfeeding the baby frequently causes production of more milk. The baby should breastfeed at least eight times daily, day and night, and on demand.
  4. Breastfeeding helps protect babies and young children against dangerous illnesses and conditions. It also creates a special bond between mother and child which promotes the child's mental development
  5. Breastmilk substitutes such as infant formula or animal milk affects the baby's healthy growth and development in a negative way.
  6. If a woman cannot breastfeed her infant, the baby can be fed expressed breastmilk from a clean cup.
  7. In rare situations a medical condition might make it impossible for the mother to breastfeed – in this case, a quality breastmilk substitute from an ordinary clean cup is better than bottle feeding because of the bacteria issue.
  8. A woman employed away from her home can continue to breastfeed her child. She should breastfeed as often as possible when she is with the infant and express her breastmilk when they are apart so that another caregiver can feed it to the baby in a clean and safe way.
  9. After 6 months of age, when babies begin to eat foods, breastfeeding should continue for up to two years and beyond because it is an important source of nutrition, energy and protection from illness.

关于母乳喂养的知识问答

关于母乳喂养的知识问答

UNICEF
正在哺乳的妈妈
UNICEF

06 三月 2012

问:很多妈妈在刚开始喂奶的时候有困难,很担心没有足够的奶水给宝宝吃,应该给她们怎样的指导?

初乳最适合刚出生的新生儿。广大群众家长已经认识到初乳的重要性。分娩后早接触、早吸吮和早开奶,主要依靠助产的医护人员服务。分娩后不久将新生儿放到母亲裸露的胸口,进行持续的皮肤接触。吸吮乳头是婴儿的本能,在出生后不久最强。根据婴儿的意愿,开始第一次哺乳,但不要强迫宝宝。早期使用奶瓶或喂婴儿配方奶,是婴儿拒绝吮吸母乳的常见原因,因为影响了新生儿自然吮吸反射。只要方法得当,几乎所有的母亲都能有足够的乳汁。

有些人担心母乳大量分泌之前,宝宝会饥饿或者脱水。其实,刚出生的婴儿体内储存了足够的水分,而且这一时期婴儿的进食需要不大,初乳完全能够满足,不需要喝水、糖水或者喝配方奶。如果此时给婴儿喂初乳之外的食物,会造成不良影响:宝宝得不到初乳,容易腹泻;宝宝对吸吮母乳的兴趣减弱,不利于乳汁分泌。

问:剖宫产会不会影响母乳喂养?

据调查,剖宫产是影响母乳喂养,尤其早开奶的原因。剖宫产使分娩和新生儿保健变得复杂,但是剖宫产不影响母乳分泌。根据世界卫生组织的指南,剖宫产后常用的抗生素例如阿莫西林、先锋霉素V等药物不影响母乳喂养。手术后一旦恢复知觉,母亲就可以与宝宝皮肤接触,开始哺乳。但是剖宫产的母亲需要更多的帮助,抱孩子和交换对侧哺乳。最初几天,母亲伤口疼痛,躺着喂奶会比较方便。

问:在婴儿出生后头六个月内,如果只给宝宝喂母乳,连水都不喂,宝宝会不会吃不饱、口渴或者上火呢?

母乳的含水量达到88%,完全满足六个月之内婴儿对水分的需要,不需要额外添加水或液体。

相反,给六个月内的婴儿喂水有危害。水占据胃容量,减少母乳摄入;饮用水的安全、喂水工具的卫生都很难保证。

在炎热、干燥的环境里,通过多次哺乳,婴儿能够获得充足水分,也不需要添加水。通过排尿可以判断婴儿是否获得了足够的水分。每天排尿次数不少于六次,尿液呈淡黄色,说明婴儿获得了足够的水分。

问:六个月后,母乳真的没有营养了吗?六月后,母乳的营养像水一样的说法对吗?

母乳是保障人类婴儿营养的最佳物质,绝大多数妇女可以产生有足够营养元素的乳汁。极度营养不良的妇女,其身体质指数低的情况下(低于18),奶水的质量才会受到影响。

不同阶段,从婴儿刚出生时的初乳,到成熟乳汁,母乳的成分不同,甚至在每次喂奶中,乳汁成分也不同。前奶的主要是满足婴幼儿止渴需求,后奶满足其能量和蛋白质的需要。这就是母乳的神奇之处,母亲身体自动调节母乳的成分以满足婴儿需要。

婴儿六个月前与六个月后相比,母乳所含能量、蛋白质和铁的总量大致相同。母乳提供的各种营养素的量占身体需要量的百分比有所不同(因随着婴儿生长,身体需要的各种营养素的量也增加)。母乳中免疫物质在不同的时间段也不同,取决于母亲自己暴露于哪些抗原物质。六个月之后母乳没有营养的说法是不正确的。

然而六个月之后婴儿对能量和营养元素的需求仅靠母乳无法满足。这就是联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织一致推荐六个月之后继续母乳喂养并同时添加辅食。

问:母乳喂养对早产儿、低出生体重儿和多胎儿有什么影响?

母亲的身体会根据自己孩子的情况合理调节乳汁的成分和分泌量。几乎所有早产儿、低出生体重儿、双胎儿都能够用母乳喂养。早产儿母亲的乳汁含有更多的蛋白质,适合早产儿快速的生长发育。必要时母亲可以增加营养,服用营养补充品。

小宝宝尽早开始吸吮乳房非常重要。不能吸吮的婴儿,母亲可以挤出乳汁,用胃管、吸管或杯子喂奶。体重达到1800g的婴儿,可以学习吸吮。

问:离家工作的女性怎样给孩子喂母乳呢?

如果母亲在工作时间无法留在孩子身边,那么当她与孩子在一起时,应经常给孩子喂奶。频繁喂奶可以保证母亲的乳汁分泌。

如果母亲在工作地点无法喂奶,可以在每个工作日挤出乳汁2至3次,并将挤出的乳汁存放在干净的容器中。在室温下乳汁可以最多保存8个小时而不会变质。挤出的乳汁可以用干净的杯子喂给孩子。

母亲不需要给孩子喂母乳代用品。

家庭和全社会应敦促雇主为员工提供带薪产假和日间托儿所,并为工作的女性提供合适的时间和场所喂奶或挤奶。

问:母乳喂养对女性的健康有哪些影响?

母亲也可以从母乳喂养中获益匪浅,至少六个月的母乳喂养能帮助母亲减轻体重,因为怀孕期间积累的脂肪要用来生产母乳。

国外研究已经报道了母乳喂养与减低乳腺癌发病率存在关联。

母乳喂养还有助于母亲停止产后出血,子宫恢复。

问:普遍存在一种担忧,担心婴儿吃奶不够影响生长发育,认为越胖越好。那么如何评估婴幼儿的体重和身高呢?

首先,评估个体时明确选取的参考标准。2006年世界卫生组织推出了新的儿童生长发育标准,之前常用的是美国国立医学研究所制定的标准。前者根据在六个国家8000多名的母乳喂养儿童作为参考人群,而后者根据美国本国的人工喂养儿童的生长状况制定的。

考虑到婴儿可能患病等实际状况,世界卫生组织推荐判断婴儿吃到足够的乳汁的可靠指标是,六个月以内婴儿平均每月体重增长500克,以及每天排淡黄色尿6次以上。新生儿体重平均3公斤,六个月的婴儿体重达到出生时的两倍,约6公斤。

奶粉喂养的婴儿生长快不意味着生长佳。肥胖儿童不是因为他们胖些就更健康。我们需要摒弃一种观点,即儿童越胖越健康。这是不正确的。人工喂养的婴儿体重增加得很快,但也增加了其今后超重, 肥胖和罹患糖尿病和心血管疾病的风险。

问:新生儿一旦拒绝母乳,选用配方奶粉,短期内确实生长迅速,无论从身高体重各方面有时候会超过母乳喂养的婴儿,所以很多母亲认为,配方奶粉喂养的孩子一样生长的很好,这种说法是否有科学依据?怎么让妈妈们改变根深蒂固的这种想法和观念呢?

这里有两个问题:

首先,婴儿拒绝吮吸母乳的原因是,早期使用奶瓶或喂婴儿配方奶影响了新生儿自然吮吸反射。所有婴儿生来就应该使用母乳喂养。分娩后半小时到1小时期间是母亲与新生儿相互影响最强烈的时段。这时的母乳喂养对今后进行成功的母乳喂养打下了十分重要的基础。

第二,生长最快不意味着生长最佳。肥胖儿童不是因为他们胖些就更健康。

母乳喂养的婴儿在出生后2-3个月的生长速度是最快的,随后开始减慢。然而只要按照其自然的规律生长,就是正常的。

世卫组织最新生长曲线是根据8000多名母乳喂养婴儿的早期生长作为参考人群研究得出的,世界不同地区世卫组织的专家对这些婴儿的生长发育进行了精心监测。之前使用的的生长标准是以人工喂养婴儿作为参考人群得出的数据。人工喂养的婴儿体重增加得很快,但也增加了其今后超重,肥胖和罹患糖尿病和心血管疾病的风险。

问:现在,许多母乳代用品,尤其是配方奶粉,都宣称含有DHA、免疫因子等其他营养成分,或者有的母乳代用品直接宣称人乳化配方奶粉可能替代母乳吗?这些配方奶粉中的成分是否母乳中都具备,而且母乳比配方奶粉更加有营养呢?

配方奶粉生产厂家每年花费数百万美元向孕产妇提供不准确的信息,让她们相信他们的产品如母乳一样的营养元素。事实并非如此,营养成分永远不可能相同。

只有母乳含有最佳的能量和营养成分,最适合婴儿前六个月的生长发育。婴儿六个月后,及时添加辅食,仍然要坚持母乳喂养,母乳仍然是营养的主要来源。

的确,你会发现许多配方奶粉产品宣称添加了各种营养物质。原因是牛奶中不包含人体生长发育所需的某些必要的营养成分。配方奶粉中所添加的如DHA 、AA和其他物质都是来源于动物或由其他人工原料合成的。这两种脂肪酸的原料以及添加AA 和DHA配方奶粉的安全性和有效性还没有得到普遍认同,因此,在美国和加拿大为足月儿设计的配方奶粉常规添加这些营养元素是不被推荐的。

注:DHA:二十二碳六烯酸,是一种欧米加3脂肪酸,对于成年人大脑功能以及出生后最初六个月的婴儿神经系统以及视力的发育有着很重要的作用。

AA:花生四烯酸, 长链欧米加6脂肪酸,含长链多不饱和脂肪酸,例如(花生四烯酸和二十二碳六烯酸)的配方奶粉声称对促进眼睛和大脑发展有好处,然而这些婴儿配方奶粉的声称功效还没有被很好地证明。

问:母乳代用品和母乳喂养相比较,对婴幼儿的生存、成长和发育,以及他的一生,到底存在哪方面的区别?

世界卫生组织专家组织开展的对照研究表明,对于许多发展中国家的脆弱儿童而言,是否采用母乳喂养,是性命攸关的大事。

两个月以下非母乳喂养婴儿死于急性呼吸性疾病(ARI)和腹泻的风险比母乳喂养婴儿高出6倍。

两岁左右的儿童,非母乳喂养比母乳喂养的死亡率高1.5倍。

有证据表明,母乳喂养可以防止婴儿猝死、过敏症状、急性呼吸性疾病以及耳部疾病的发生。

配方奶粉使儿童易患感染病、哮喘、脑膜炎、肥胖和糖尿病。

这是因为母乳有保护性功能,还因为母乳喂养是婴儿最卫生、最有营养的食物。甚至在感染病低发的发达国家,许多研究表明母乳喂养可以预防急性感染。

在儿童生长发育方面,之前的儿童生长标准是根据美国人工喂养儿童的生长状况制定的。因此世界卫生组织推荐了新的生长标准,该标准在世界不同国家根据母乳喂养的儿童的生长制定的标准。

这些研究结果证明,应该鼓励发展中国家的母亲母乳喂养其子女直至其两周岁。纯母乳喂养婴儿至六个月时引入高质量辅食。

我们需要摒弃一种观点,即儿童越胖越健康。这是不正确的。

2006年,世界卫生组织牵头开展了全球儿童、青年、和成年人研究。研究发现母乳喂养儿童成年后的长期益处。包括:

  • 平均血压值和总胆固醇值更低
  • 智力测验表现更佳
  • 超体重、肥胖和2型糖尿病的患病率更低

问:为什么要大力提倡母乳喂养?母乳喂养的优越性在哪里?

全球卫生机构一致认为与配方奶粉相比,母乳喂养是最好的婴幼儿喂养方式。因为:

  1. 母乳中含有的营养物质的完美组合对于促进婴儿生长及脑部发育是任何配方奶粉都无法相比的。
  2. 母乳中保护婴儿感染传染病的抗体成分是任何配方奶粉都不具有的。
  3. 母乳比任何配方奶粉都更安全。因为配方奶粉使用的各个环节:从调配奶粉的水、奶瓶和奶嘴还有奶粉本身都可能受到污染 – 而且可能如报道的那样,出现假冒伪劣奶粉、或含三聚氰胺的的奶粉。
  4. 母乳比任何配方奶粉都要经济实惠,同时为婴儿生长发育提供完美的营养物质,并保护婴儿减少感染传染性疾病。

每个母亲在产前检查、分娩以及产后护理的过程中都应该获得关于母乳喂养为其孩子和她自己带来的益处的指导。应该获得有关开奶和持续母乳喂养的指导。

问:人工配方奶粉喂养存在什么样的风险?

使用母乳代用品首先意味着儿童无法享有母乳喂养带来的益处-母乳喂养的益处在上面已经提到。

人工婴儿奶粉实际上是有害的。因为在其生产、调配和使用过程中可能被污染。这一点不仅在中国,在世界其他地区都有诸多例子可以证明。

毫无疑问这在全世界范围内,降低了儿童生存和发展的权益。西方许多发达国家的研究表明,即使是在最卫生的、无菌的条件下调配配方奶粉,也永远无法达到母乳的卫生标准,而且使儿童易患感染性疾病、哮喘、脑膜炎、肥胖和糖尿病等多种疾病。

母乳总是最佳选择!

问:用奶瓶、奶嘴和奶杯给孩子喂奶有什么危害?

奶瓶奶嘴喂食存在大量卫生和健康问题,不建议给婴幼儿使用奶瓶奶嘴喂食。

与主动吸吮不同,奶瓶奶嘴喂养时婴儿被动接受食物,缺乏吸吮动作、比较省力。婴儿容易产生错觉,拒绝吸吮乳房,影响哺乳和乳汁分泌。由于缺乏主动吸吮,婴儿过度进食造成体重过高,也减弱面部肌肉和动作发育。奶瓶奶嘴喂养儿童,日后容易发生牙齿咬合问题(牙齿不整齐)。

奶瓶奶嘴的缝隙和沟回较多,不容易清洗和消毒,存污纳垢、滋养细菌,增加腹泻。奶瓶奶嘴的材质人工合成物质,具有潜在的危险。

对于不能吸吮的婴儿,推荐使用奶杯喂养。奶杯喂养需要看护者更多的耐心和技术。

问:从中国人口的生存和健康状况来看,从儿童的健康因素出发,怎样给中国有婴幼儿的家庭正确的喂养消费指导?

  1. 在婴儿出生后的头六个月内,母乳是婴儿唯一的食物和饮料。在这段时间内,婴儿不需要添加其它的食物或饮品,甚至是水。
  2. 分娩后新生儿应立即送到母亲身边,她们之间应该有皮肤接触,而且出生后1小时内就应开始母乳喂养。
  3. 几乎每位母亲都能成功哺乳。母乳喂养可促进乳汁的产生。每天至少应喂8次,不分白天黑夜,要按需哺喂。
  4. 母乳喂养有助于婴幼儿预防一些危险的疾病或状态,同时使母亲和孩子之间建立起亲密的关系。
  5. 母乳代用品例如配方奶粉或动物奶会对婴儿的生长发育产生负面影响。
  6. 如果母亲无法进行母乳喂养,应使用干净的杯子给孩子喂挤出的母乳。
  7. 少数情况下,母亲由于身体状况无法母乳喂养。此时需要喂高质量的母乳代用品,与使用奶瓶相比,清洁的杯子会更好的避免细菌污染。
  8. 离家工作的妇女也可以继续用母乳喂养孩子,当他们与孩子在一起时应尽可能多地母乳喂养,离开时将挤出的乳汁存放在干净的容器中,由其他看护人清洁、安全地喂给孩子。
  9. 虽然婴儿长到六个月是需要开始添加辅食,但母乳仍是孩子的营养物资以及能量的重要来源,而且有助于抵抗多种疾病,应继续母乳喂养。