HEALTHY WEIGHT AMONG CHILDREN

A UNICEF PRIORITY FOR 2021-2025

A girl jumps over a barrier during a PE class at a middle school in Panzhou, Guizhou Province, in November 2020.
UNICEF/CHINA/2020/MA YUYUAN

Highlights

Child overweight and obesity rates have grown rapidly in urban and rural areas of China. The 2015 Global Burden of Disease report estimates that 15 million children aged 2-19 years old are overweight or obese in China. Based on a national report on nutrition and noncommunicable diseases in 2020, the prevalence of overweight (including obesity) is 10 per cent for children under 6, and 19 per cent for children aged 6-17. Without action, the threat of childhood obesity could have severe short-term and long-term consequences, leading to chronic illness, disability and mortality.

A major cause of this problem is an increase in the consumption of foods and beverages that far exceeds a child’s daily requirements of sugar, fat and calories over a prolonged period. Diets have changed rapidly and there is a lack of commensurate regulation of the production, labeling and marketing of unhealthy and ultra-processed foods – especially to children.

A more regulated food environment would make it easier for parents, caregivers and adolescents to make informed, healthy choices about their diet. If this could be
combined with higher nutrition literacy, the risks of unhealthy food choices would decrease further. UNICEF is working with government partners to create an environment that promotes nutritious, affordable and sustainable diets as part of healthy lifestyles for children.

Author
UNICEF China
Publication date
Languages
Chinese, English

Download

(PDF, 1,47 MB)

儿童健康体重

联合国儿童基金会2021-2025年工作重点

2020年11月,在贵州省盘州市一所中学的体育课上,一名学生跳过障碍物。
UNICEF/CHINA/2020/MA YUYUAN

亮点

近年来,中国城乡儿童超重和肥胖率迅速攀升。据2015年全球疾病负担报告估算,2-19岁的中国儿童中,有1500万存在超重或肥胖。《中国居民营养与慢性病状况报告(2020年)》显示,中国六岁以下儿童的超重(包括肥胖)流行率为10%,6-17岁儿童中的流行率为19%。若不采取针对性行动,儿童肥胖所带来的威胁可能造成严重的短期和长期后果,引发慢性病、残障,甚至导致死亡。

长期从食品和饮料中过量摄入糖、脂肪和热量,是导致儿童超重和肥胖的主要原因。饮食模式快速变化的同时,缺乏相应的法律法规来对不健康及高度加工食品(尤其是针对儿童的食品)的生产、标识和营销活动进行监管与规范。

有序规范的食品环境将有助于父母、照护人和青少年在饮食方面做出知情且健康的选择。在此基础上结合提高上述人群营养知识的相关工作,将进一步降低儿童青少年选
择不健康食品的风险。

联合国儿童基金会正携手政府合作伙伴,致力于营造营养、可负担及可持续的膳食环境,让健康饮食融入儿童的生活方式之中。

作者
联合国儿童基金会驻华办事处
发布日期
语言
中文, 英语

下载

(PDF, 1,88 MB)